Finding Time to Write

The biggest challenge for me to write is not so much finding the right words as finding the time to do it. Or, more specifically, the quiet time.

I’m married and have two children, 10 and 8 years old. There’s always something going on in the house: cleaning, cooking, laundry, honey-do lists, kids arguing and fighting, large crashing noises above my head that shake my drop-ceiling. The kids gravitate anywhere I am, especially my office when I’m writing. (I write this after both kids come inside to see what I’m doing.)

Don’t get me wrong: I love my children; they mean the world to me. I love spending time with them, asking them how their days at school went, sitting in my recliner watching a movie with them, my son on one side and my daughter on the other. But bless their hearts, they sure can interrupt a train (or more) of thoughts!

I’m not a full-time writer. As much as I’d love to do it, I can’t make my living at it. So I have to steal writing time when I can, often after the kids have gone to bed. Of course by that time, I’m so mentally drained and worn out that I’m incapable of writing very much. I end up answering emails, catching up on a book I’m reading, or simply going to bed. And so the cycle goes, night after night. Needless to say, my thoughts and ideas aren’t getting down on paper as much as I’d like.

I’d love to hear from other writers for their thoughts on finding quality time to write.

Leave a Reply

